Buying a new car can be an exciting experience for anyone. It is a ride that will take you anywhere you want to go and that is an exceptional kind of freedom. However, getting a car also means you get to fulfill some new responsibilities and the first one is registration. For any car owner in Florida, registering their vehicle is mandatory and that covers all types of vehicles. The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles is responsible for managing car registrations, so you need to fulfill all the requirements that they set out for you. If you have never had a car registered in Florida or are moving here with a new car, this guide will provide all the information you need.

Cost of Vehicle Registration

Before anything else, any new car owner wants to address all things money-related. You may also want to know how much it costs to register a car in Florida and the answer to that is $225. This is the value set by the state for any car that either does not have any license plate or has no previous ownership record in the state of Florida. This fee is mandatory and is to be paid for every single vehicle on the roads of Florida.

If you belong to a military family, you can get an exemption on the initial registration fee. Furthermore, if you are stationed in Florida and do not have any plans for becoming a resident in the state, you do not have to register your car at all.

Documentation for Registration

Apart from the money, the state also requires some documents to attach the registration to you. The documents you need to provide include the following.

–        Any form of identification (your ID or driving license)

–        Proof of insurance in the state of Florida

–        License plate for your car

–        Application for Certificate of Title With/Without Registration. This can also be acquired pre-filled if you purchased your car from a private party

–        Verification documents for Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) if your vehicle is not purchased in Florida

–        Fees and taxes applicable

Insurance Requirements

Every car registration in Florida must also be accompanied by car insurance with minimum thresholds to be followed. While you can choose the insurer yourself, you need to make sure that the insurance you get covers the following minimum values:

–        $10,000 coverage for property damage

–        $10,000 coverage for personal injury (PIP)

In addition to that, you can also get other packages added to your insurance if you can afford to. Accidents are also a common occurrence on the roads and having coverage for accidents can be extremely beneficial. We recommend that you get either of these two options at a minimum:

–        $10,000 coverage for bodily injuries per person

–        $20,000 for all persons

Both the values would be per accident and with a decent yearly limit. These insurances allow you to pay medical bills that may be incurred after an accident.

No-Fault Law and Penalties

To enforce the insurance requirements, the state has a dedicated No-Fault Law in place that mandates every driver to buy insurance. The law covers personal injury protection (PIP) since you could end up needing medical care if you are in an accident, regardless of whose fault the accident was.


Getting your car registered in the state of Florida is relatively easy now. You can even get the process done online or on the department’s app and also use it to renew your registration for up to two years.